Jan 17, 2024

The Memorial Foundation Announces 2024 Class of Social Justice Fellows

The Memorial Foundation, builders of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial on the National Mall, announced today its third Social Justice Fellows Program cohort. The Foundation will engage fifty emerging leaders nationwide through a virtual eight-week curriculum centered around advocacy, community organizing and public policy. Fellows will learn to build a community of support with like-minded leaders, explore high-impact practices that move communities to activism and develop an understanding of leadership for long-term sustainable community change.

“The road from protest to policy requires a fresh generation of bold leaders,” said Harry E. Johnson Sr., President and CEO of the Memorial Foundation. “Since our inaugural class in 2021, we have discovered fellows who not only embody the principles of democracy, justice, hope, and love espoused by Dr. King but also serve as beacons of inspiration for others. The Social Justice Fellows program has helped many grow their ability to pursue Dr. King’s vision of equality and we are thrilled to welcome our third class.” 

The Fellows Program will feature four key components: a distinguished lecture series; a personal learning journey to focus on a key area of interest and practical application; a capstone project focused on building a movement for a current issue at the local, regional or national level; and concluding with a capstone program in Washington, D.C. for an in-person Congressional component of the Fellowship focusing on social justice and public policy. Acclaimed journalist Roland Martin, journalist and communication specialist Jeff Johnson and President and CEO of the National Council of Negro Women Shavon Arline-Bradley will host the distinguished lecture series for the Fellows Program, which will feature dialogue with national leaders including:

  • Tim Wise, American activist and writer
  • Dr. Reverend Freddie Haynes of the Friendship-West Baptist Church in Dallas and President and CEO of the Rainbow/PUSH Coalition
  • Alicia Garza, co-founder of Black Lives Matter and Founder & CEO of Black Futures Lab
  • Wisdom Cole, National Director, NAACP Youth and College Division
  • David ‘Dee-1’ Augustine, award-winning hip hop artist and activist
  • Dr. Chanequa Walker-Barnes, psychologist, professor and preacher

At the conclusion of the program, the fellows will have new experiences and skills they can take back to communities to assist them in creating positive change. 

The 2024 Social Justice Fellows include: 

  • Tamara Bates - Nashville, TN
  • Devin Majors - Nashville, TN
  • Tyler Finley - Memphis, TN
  • Aramis Jones - Memphis, TN
  • La Tia Penn - Memphis, TN
  • Cicely Sharp - Memphis, TN
  • Nicole Li - Collierville, TN
  • Bethany Bonsu - Arlington, VA
  • Bianca Ford - Suffolk, VA
  • Israel Fulton - Norfolk, VA
  • Qudsia Saeed - Alexandria, VA
  • Allegra Massaro - Washington, D.C.
  • Drake Evan Johnson - Silver Springs, MD
  • Dezmond Rosier - La Plata, MD
  • Titus Bryant - Houston, TX
  • Dieter Cantu - Houston, TX
  • Cherrelle Duncan - Houston, TX
  • Jade Miller - Houston, TX
  • Tiffany Joy Philips - Houston, TX
  • Priscila True - Houston, TX
  • David Hughes - Huffman, TX
  • Miriam Laekey - Austin, TX
  • Sydney Coleman - Decatur, GA
  • Neha Devineni - Atlanta, GA
  • Corinne Williams - Atlanta, GA
  • Ochuwa Garuba - Powder Springs, GA
  • Thurman Green - Marietta, GA
  • Libby Cohen - Jacksonville, FL
  • Rebecca Desir - Sanford, FL
  • Troy Duffle - Miami, FL
  • Lena Kalandijian - Parkland, FL
  • Iogan Meza - North Miami Beach, FL
  • Malcolm Ferrouillet - New Orleans, LA
  • Cyrus Riddle - New Orleans, LA
  • Tia Suggs - Gretna, LA
  • Taina Harris - St. Louis, MO
  • Asha Larson-Baldwin - St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic Elijah Lewis - St. Louis, MO
  • Abby Rae Hicks - Springfield, MO
  • Christopher Caldwell - Southaven, MS
  • Leon Harmon - Chicago, IL
  • Elijah Jenkins - Chicago, IL
  • Katerine Hernandez - Union, NJ
  • Morgan Hinton - Charlotte, NC
  • Raymond Long - Little Rock, AR
  • Oluwafikemi Oyeniyi - Talladega, AL
  • Gill Platek - Lakewood, OH
  • Imari Smith - Flint, MI
  • Nicole Tora - Langhorne, PA
  • Sharday Urtarte - Bronx, NY